PHOTOS: YAGP Gala Brings Out Hollywood and Ballet Stars

Advancing young ballet dancers is Youth America Grand Prix’s mission.  Last evening at their ‘Stars of Today Meets the Stars of Tomorrow’ gala at Lincoln Center NBC’s Hoda Kotb took to the stage and addressed the standing room only crowd, “YAGP bridges the gap between young dancers and their education and performance opportunities. It sends some of the world’s top dance professionals to scout for talent all over the globe – and to select the most promising young dancers for the Finals, here in New York, where they can be seen and given the opportunities they need to grow and develop as artists. There are many talented young dancers that may not have the means to participate in YAGP’s competitions. YAGP provides financial support, based on need, to many dancers and their families so they can continue on their dance journeys.”
As is their tradition the evening included a remarkable program of both young YAGP dancers and professionals from companies including ABT, Dutch National Ballet, Joffrey Ballet, NYC Ballet, Norwegian National Ballet, and the Mariinsky. An unusual paring of ABT’s Isabella Boylston and Kimin Kim of the Mariinsky bought the house down.
Lesley Vecsler, Candice Miller, Marcella Guarino Hymowitz, Ashley Olsen, Mary-Kate Olsen, Colby Mugrabi by Presley Ann for PMC
Ashley Olsen, Mary-Kate Olsen, Marcella Guarino Hymowitz, Colby Mugrabi, Candice Miller, Lesley Thompson Vecsler chaired the dinner that followed on the promenade of the David H. Koch Theater. 500 guests sat at long tables with centerpieces of Capezio pointe shoes overflowing with flowers. Sotheby’s Joe Dunning conducted a spirited auction that raised over $100,000 for scholarships.  Katie Couric and husband John Molner were among the first to raise their hands with a $10,000 pledge.  Dancing continued till nearly midnight.
YAGP Founder Larissa Saveliev was joined by guests Maria Cristina Anzola, Sarah Arison, Maxim Beloserkovsky, Deeda Blair, ABT’s Isabella Boylston, Something Navy influencer Arielle Noa Charnas, ABT’s Calvin Royal III, Kelly Rutherford, Olivier Sarkozy with his daughter Margot, Sergei Filin, Melanie Hamrick, Karen LeFrak, David Schulte, as well as YAGP board members Barbara and Gary Brandt, Suzanne Hall with Valentino D. Carlotti, Judith M. Hoffman, Christina Lyon, B Michael, Ellen Mondshine chairman Linda K. Morse with her husband Edward Morse, Richard Osterweil, Susan Gluck Pappajohn, Mr. and Mrs. Howard S. Paley, and Terry Zucker.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.